Republic of Congo Trade Marks


Republic of Congo trade marks may only be registered through the OAPI union where a single application covers all member states. It is not possible to obtain national registration in Republic of Congo but penalties for infringements are the responsibility of Republic of Congo courts. Republic of Congo trade marks are valid for 10 years from the filing date and are renewable every 10 years thereafter. OAPI trade mark registration is available for certification marks and goods and services. OAPI is a member of the Paris Convention (International treaty for the protection of Industrial Property) and the Madrid Protocol (an international system for obtaining trade mark protection for a number of regions through a single application).

The Nice Classification of Goods and Services is followed and use of this classification is mandatory for the national registration of marks in countries party to the Nice Agreement, the African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI), the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO), the Benelux Office for Intellectual Property (BOIP), the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) and the International Bureau of WIPO.

Types of Trade Marks:

  • Goods and services
  • Certification marks

Filing Requirements:

  • Simply signed Power of Attorney
  • Details of the Applicant (full names, physical address, nationality/country of incorporation)
  • Representation of the trade mark(s)
  • List of goods and/or services
  • Certified copy of priority document (if applicable)

International and Regional Systems

  • Paris Convention
  • Madrid Protocol
  • Nice Classification
  • OAPI
OAPI Trade Marks & Patents

OAPI (Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle) is a union of predominantly French-speaking countries but the official languages of the organisation are French and English. The OAPI Intellectual Property office is based in Cameroon and the union of 17 countries was created by the Bangui Agreement in 1977 which came in to force in 1982. 

OAPI Member States
Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo.